Is Forex – and most other financial trading – wrong or even maybe sinful for Christians?

I have stopped trading Forex altogether because I have developed serious ethical problems as a Christian with it.

Most types of financial trading and day trading are a zero sum game, even a negative sum game.  It produces NOTHING of value, no goods or services, and no wealth is created like in Stock Trading.  The net change in total wealth among traders is zero at the end of the day (sometimes even less!) – the wealth is just SHIFTED from one trader to another! (Reallocation of wealth – júst like in gambling)

It is far too close to gambling for me (some skill, a lot of chance), and you make gains ONLY at another’s expense!  Jesus said that we should love our neighbor as we love ourselves.  How can you do that when you profit only at somebody else’s expense?  It is a violation of Jesus’ most basic commandment for humanity.  And to give to worthy causes from Forex earnings may be great, but the end never justifies the means!  I personally consider Forex now essentially a form of legalized stealing and robbery.  The experienced Forex trader is committed to “fleecing” those who are inexperienced!

Don’t pray and ask God to help you with your financial trading – I don’t believe He will!  Don’t be deceived.  When I say God won’t help you with your financial trading, I don’t mean all trading.  I mean trading that tends to be morally wrong.  I tried it, while praying a lot about it, and in the end still lost most of my capital.  I don’t think God will get involved in practices that are very speculative and close to gambling.  It is simply against His Word.

Henry Ford said: ” Wealth is never attained when sought after directly. It comes as a by-product of supplying a useful service.”

An agnostic has even said: “In Forex you’re not doing any useful work, and you’re hoping to make a lot of money from it, right?  Isn’t this really like stealing from the public?  You’re hoping to get a lot of money from moving currencies around, and you’re not giving the world anything in return – except moving some currencies around.  I think that’s just like theft.”

By the way, the odds ate totally stacked up against you in Forex.  Up to 95% of small forex traders loose all their money in trading.

Think carefully about what I have said.  This is how I think and feel right now.  I don’t know if anybody can convince me otherwise/refute my arguments?

(Additional Information:
When I say God won’t help you with your financial trading, I don’t mean all trading. I mean trading that tends to be morally wrong. I tried it, while praying a lot about it, and in the end still lost most of my capital. I don’t think God will get involved in practices that are very speculative and close to gambling. It is simply against His Word.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Finances, Forex for Christians, Forex trading, Trading

Leave a Reply

